Why did the Huffington Post visit my Blog?

I can only take a wild guess. I suspect that someone was “sniffing” around for posts that expressed religious intolerance.

When I looked at the topics on my blog that received “hits” that day, I noticed that someone clicked on to my post entitled “Homosexual Gang Rape or Invisible Doors?” In this post I discussed a biblical passage (Genesis 19:5) were men from the city of Sodom surrounded Lot’s house with the dishonorable intention of raping two of Lot’s diner guests (who were angels).

I used this inconceivable biblical scenario to illustrate that Scripture contained deeper levels of meaning. This deeper exegesis or Bible interpretation is denied by traditional Christian theology and not even suspected by “enlightened” atheists (who mock the many absurdities and social injustices found in the literal meaning of its words).

Well, I guess after reading my post, the representative from Huntington Post found nothing homophobic or anything that would resemble “hate speech” and moved on without leaving a reply. I was as disappointed that this reader had no response to the concept that Sacred Scripture was a multi-dimensional document as the reader must have been that my post had nothing to do with the issue of homosexuality.

Since all those who read this post were most probably expecting me to take a stance on homosexuality I no doubt left some readers feeling “cheated.” So, for the sake of responding to all my readers allow me to now share with you my stance on homosexuality and homosexual marriage.

Several years ago I was promoting my first book Sermon From The Compost Pile at a bookstore signing with a talk about how the principles spiritual growth could be found in one’s backyard yard garden or other eco-friendly environment. Somebody at the back of the room raised their hand and asked about whether homosexuality was detrimental to this process of cultivating one’s human potential.

I answered, “If who we partner with is an obstacle to our increased spiritual growth, then that partnership is wrong in God’s ultimate scheme.” In other words, it is not whom we love but the quality and sincerity of that love. Spiritual love is based on an eternal commitment between two people to help each other follow God’s tenets of goodness and evolve into spiritual beings.

According to such a premise, even most heterosexual marriages fall way short of God’s plan for guiding us towards eternal happiness and blessedness.

Should you be interested in my book on the topic of God’s ecology and spiritual gardening please visit http://innergardening.net

About thegodguy

EDWARD F. SYLVIA, M.T.S. Philosopher/Theologian Edward F. Sylvia attended the School of Visual Arts in New York and received his Master of Theological Studies at the Pacific School of Religion in Berkeley, CA and a Certificate of Swedenborgian Studies from the Swedenborgian House of Studies. He is a member of the Center for Theology and the Natural Sciences (C.T.N.S.) and the Swedenborg Scientific Association (S.S.A.). Award-winning author of "Sermon From the Compost Pile: Seven Steps Toward Creating An Inner Garden" and "Proving God," which fulfills a continuing vision that God’s fingerprints of love can be found everywhere in the manifest universe. His most recent book, "Swedenborg & Gurdjieff: The Missing Links" is an edgy collection of anti-intuitive essays for personal transformation that challenges and inspires. He has been a student of the ideas of both Emanuel Swedenborg and George I. Gurdjieff for over thirty years. Read more about TheGodGuy, his books and his ideas at http://www.staircasepress.com
This entry was posted in god, Inner growth, Life after death, love, Reality, religion, spirituality, symbolism, unity and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

