Dennis gets hooked up to the “Dynamo-Spectral-Noggin” apparatus!

Once upon a time there was an assistant lab researcher named Dennis who was helping his Professor create a startling new piece of equipment. The device was designed on the basis of the professor’s unique theory that the human brain and the development of its cognitive functions operated on distinct levels of organic structure.

The apparatus was designed to stimulate these individual “layered” cognitive substrates. The professor’s invention was called a “Dynamo-Spectral-Noggin” machine and he was now ready to use it to test his multi-leveled cognitive theory.

PROFESSOR: “A rat or a monkey won’t do. We need a human volunteer with a more complex brain system to test this new equipment.”

DENNIS: “I will gladly volunteer!”

The professor asked Dennis to sit in a large chair, and then connected specially sensitive probes to his brain. These probes were attached to the “Dynamo-Spectral-Noggin” machine.

PROFESSOR: “Now then, if my theory is correct, by turning this dial and changing the flow of energy into your brain I can change the anode and cathode operations of your intellect. These special probes, inserted into your cerebral cortex, are designed to both detect deeper levels of structure even inside the neuron itself and to modify your mental energies in such a way that will allow a deeper level of cognitive structure to become the anode and active principle of your mental functions. Are you ready for me to activate the machine?”

DENNIS: “Ready!”

The professor hit the “ON switch” and turned a dial to a certain predetermined calibration.

PROFESSOR: “What are you now experiencing?”

DENNIS: “I feel like a kid again—full of curiosity and wonderment about the world! I feel like my brain is a sponge. I have a strong passion and desire for filling my memory with all kinds of information and knowledge.”

PROFESSOR: “Ahhhh, Emanuel Swedenborg was right. He described the progression of the development of the human intellect as a kind of neural-nuptial or marriage between our thinking function and our feeling function. This psycho-nuptial starts in the young brain with the love of collecting knowledge. Let us see if this conjunction and marriage between heart and mind can be elevated further.”

The professor turned the dial of his super sensitive equipment to the next calibration, and changed the anode of Dennis’ energy flow to a deeper cognitive substrate.

PROFESSOR: “Now what are you experiencing?”

DENNIS: “The knowledge and data in my memory seems to be aligning into coherent categories. Under this arrangement of my memory-ideas I am now able to better understand the things that I know.”

The Professor turns up the dial again.

DENNIS: “That was interesting. I no longer care about understanding things from my personal biases. I now have a heartfelt desire to find the most rational truths contained in my own understanding or taught by deep thinkers and philosophers. I desire to live a rational life from a new consideration for others.”

The professor turns the dial to another calibration.

DENNIS: “Gee, I seem to have lost all my original motives and self-promoting interests of terrestrial life. My mind is now open to finding universal truths—truths by which all the laws of the universe operate. Emotionally, I want to feel I play a part in this grand system.”

PROFESSOR: “Yes, indeed! As I turn this dial and change the place of the anode to deeper layers of neural structure, the ideas of your previous state of mind become more evolved and arranged with a more subtle complexity. I still have another turn of the dial to go.”

DENNIS: “Wow! I just experienced a blinding light, which seems to originate from an all wise and all-loving Creator-God. This supra-natural light is now allowing my mind to perceive that all universal laws in the cosmos come from nonphysical spiritual laws. I feel God’s love for me, and now have an overwhelming love for God. And, I am now detecting something that I could not have anticipated. I can clearly see with my new spiritual vision that the ideas and values of my mind are becoming organized into actual genera and species—that not only create a spiritual body for my soul, they are projected outwards to form my spiritual habitat and ecosystem. My spiritual reality is organized according to my life values and choices! Now I understand the cryptic statement by the Lord in the New Testament that ‘Heaven is within you.’ “

PROFESSOR: “Excellent! I can’t wait to share this invention with other neuroscientists and colleagues!”

DENNIS: “I think you should also expose spiritual leaders from all religions and faiths to this remarkable apparatus. I have personally experienced that when hooked up to this machine and the dial is turned all the way, the human intellect and heart is elevated above the differences of various religious doctrines and will allow all of us to readily recognize the same fundamental truths that lie at the center of all faith traditions.”

http://www.provinggod.com

About thegodguy

EDWARD F. SYLVIA, M.T.S. Philosopher/Theologian Edward F. Sylvia attended the School of Visual Arts in New York and received his Master of Theological Studies at the Pacific School of Religion in Berkeley, CA and a Certificate of Swedenborgian Studies from the Swedenborgian House of Studies. He is a member of the Center for Theology and the Natural Sciences (C.T.N.S.) and the Swedenborg Scientific Association (S.S.A.). Award-winning author of "Sermon From the Compost Pile: Seven Steps Toward Creating An Inner Garden" and "Proving God," which fulfills a continuing vision that God’s fingerprints of love can be found everywhere in the manifest universe. His most recent book, "Swedenborg & Gurdjieff: The Missing Links" is an edgy collection of anti-intuitive essays for personal transformation that challenges and inspires. He has been a student of the ideas of both Emanuel Swedenborg and George I. Gurdjieff for over thirty years. Read more about TheGodGuy, his books and his ideas at http://www.staircasepress.com
This entry was posted in god, Inner growth, Life after death, love, psychology, Reality, religion, science, spirituality, unity and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dennis gets hooked up to the “Dynamo-Spectral-Noggin” apparatus!

  1. Bob says:

    Quantum blond joke: A blond is standing at the rivers edge. She sees another blond on the other side of the river. She yells across: “Hey, how do you get to the other side of the river?” The second blond replies: “You’re already there!”

    • thegodguy says:

      Dear Bob,

      Obviously you are aware that the Quantum “Brunette” Theory challenges that assumption!

      Spiritually yours,
      TheGodGuy

Leave a Reply

