The Heart, The Eye And The Hand

There once was a very, very, sad heart. She loved to do everything but was unable to do anything about it. Even with all her passion she did not know how to get things done. The reason was she never received an education. In fact, she did not even know what learning was. All she could do was wish, and wish, and wish.

The poor heart felt that she was out of rhythm with the world’s pulse and was bored of her endless life of diastolic and systolic repetition that was getting her nowhere.

So she began to cry.

“Why are you so sad?” came a voice not far away. Unfortunately, because love is blind, the heart could not see who was addressing her and said, “Who is it? I cannot see.”

“I can see,” said the stranger. “I am an eye.”

“What is an eye?” inquired the heart.

“I was specially designed to see,” answered the eye. “There is nothing in the world that escapes my attention. I can look at everything and learn about anything.”

The heart started to beat with new excitement. “Could you please help teach me what you know so that all my desires and wishes can be turned into action and come true?”

The eye looked around, searching for a way to reply. Then he squinted, as if pained by the heart’s plea. “I know how to do things, but it is quite clear to me that I have never done anything myself, either,” confessed the eye. “No matter what I focus on, I do not have the ability to accomplish a single thing,”

Things now seemed worse than before. Not only was the heart still sad, but now the eye began to shed a tear as well. Together, they wanted to do things and knew how to do things but they still lacked ability.

“Why are you two so sad?’ came a nearby voice. “Perhaps I can offer a hand.”

“Who are you?’ asked the heart.

“I know, I know!” said the eye. “I can see that it is a hand.”

“I have ability,” pointed out the hand. “I was designed to be handy. But alone I am nothing more than a knucklehead.” The hand opened up and admitted, “I need what you two have – the desire and the knowledge.” Then the hand snapped his fingers and said, “Perhaps if we all got together and shared our talents, we could accomplish great things.

The eye opened wide with excitement as he suddenly gained a new grasp of things. And the heart was so touched by the hand that she replied. “Let’s do it. I’m pumped!”

Suddenly, a most beautiful angel appeared before them. She smiled at the three and said, “God has specially designed each of you and brought you together to enjoy a most sacred and holy partnership.”

“Why is our joining together holy?” asked the curious heart.

“Every time you all act together, you are representing and celebrating the three wonderful aspects of God’s nature, which are Divine Love, Divine Wisdom, and Divine Action. God has given you the similar sacred gifts of loving, knowing, and doing.

The heart, eye and hand turned to each other to verify the angel’s words. “That feels right to me,” said the heart. “I see exactly what the angel is saying,” followed the eye. “Those are words I can hold onto for life,” motioned the hand while making an “okay” sign with his fingers.

So the heart, the eye and the hand lived happily ever after – as they were meant to live under God’s divine, eternal plan.

http://www.staircasepress.com

About thegodguy

EDWARD F. SYLVIA, M.T.S. Philosopher/Theologian Edward F. Sylvia attended the School of Visual Arts in New York and received his Master of Theological Studies at the Pacific School of Religion in Berkeley, CA and a Certificate of Swedenborgian Studies from the Swedenborgian House of Studies. He is a member of the Center for Theology and the Natural Sciences (C.T.N.S.) and the Swedenborg Scientific Association (S.S.A.). Award-winning author of "Sermon From the Compost Pile: Seven Steps Toward Creating An Inner Garden" and "Proving God," which fulfills a continuing vision that God’s fingerprints of love can be found everywhere in the manifest universe. His most recent book, "Swedenborg & Gurdjieff: The Missing Links" is an edgy collection of anti-intuitive essays for personal transformation that challenges and inspires. He has been a student of the ideas of both Emanuel Swedenborg and George I. Gurdjieff for over thirty years. Read more about TheGodGuy, his books and his ideas at http://www.staircasepress.com
This entry was posted in god, Inner growth, love, Parenting, psychology, Reality, religion, spirituality, symbolism, unity and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

