Have both religion and science gone off the deep end?

Sitting in my easy chair, I click my TV remote to a science channel. I find myself looking at a documentary on string and membrane theory.

String theory is a noble attempt to unify Einstein’s general relativity theory (gravity) with quantum mechanics. It is an interesting theory in that it suggests that the universe consists of more than three dimensions of space and one dimension of time. Scientists are now up to eleven dimensions that depict fundamental reality as consisting bizarre forms of membranes. When two membranes clash we get the Big Bang. While this approach gives physicists the mathematical freedom to unify relativity theory and quantum mechanics, there is no known means for testing such a multidimensional model. So cutting-edge science is breaking its own rules and methodology. What this means is that scientists are starting to act unreasonably.

Next I click my remote to a religion channel whose theme serves as a warning that “Christ is coming!” I do not question the good intentions of the minister who is delivering the message—he wants to save my soul. However, I do become disturbed listening to doctrinal “scare tactics” that present God as menacing and to be feared. I not only personally view God as Infinite love and mercy, but the description of the “end days” is farfetched and horrific. Next I am led to believe that this catastrophic event is coming soon—something that has been preached for almost 2000 years. I have read Scripture and it seems to suggest that Christ would return within a generation and within the lifetimes of those who listened to Him preach. Hmmm?

While I believe that fundamental reality maybe stranger than anyone suspects, I also believe that the universe is ultimately rational. Science is currently challenged to figure our out how the “weirdness” encountered at the fundamental level of physics leads to a universe that is orderly and has orientation.

Religion sidesteps such challenges by claiming these things as “mysteries of faith” and that “all things are possible with God,” therefore we should not even bother ourselves with such questions.

Unfortunately, I am cursed with a curious brain. So I have made a study of various religions and various scientific theories in my search for finding meaning to it all. As a result I have been able to detect a growing “holistic” movement consisting of serious thinkers who believe all things in the universe are profoundly connected. In other words, existence is relationship.

When one considers that the essence of LOVE is to unite, then this movement is within striking distance of unifying science and religion by challenging the current assumptions of both!

The two individuals who I feel offer the most valuable information for making this paradigm shift possible are Emanuel Swedenborg and George I. Gurdjieff. This blog was created to present many of their novel ideas and invite readers to the table for serious discussion.

I hope you can jump in from time to time!

I have also written a new book, Proving God, which goes into great detail on how science and theology can be rationally unified. My “advance reading copies” are getting good reviews. It will be made available to the general public in Spring 2010, just before Easter.

http://www.provinggod.com

About thegodguy

EDWARD F. SYLVIA, M.T.S. Philosopher/Theologian Edward F. Sylvia attended the School of Visual Arts in New York and received his Master of Theological Studies at the Pacific School of Religion in Berkeley, CA and a Certificate of Swedenborgian Studies from the Swedenborgian House of Studies. He is a member of the Center for Theology and the Natural Sciences (C.T.N.S.) and the Swedenborg Scientific Association (S.S.A.). Award-winning author of "Sermon From the Compost Pile: Seven Steps Toward Creating An Inner Garden" and "Proving God," which fulfills a continuing vision that God’s fingerprints of love can be found everywhere in the manifest universe. His most recent book, "Swedenborg & Gurdjieff: The Missing Links" is an edgy collection of anti-intuitive essays for personal transformation that challenges and inspires. He has been a student of the ideas of both Emanuel Swedenborg and George I. Gurdjieff for over thirty years. Read more about TheGodGuy, his books and his ideas at http://www.staircasepress.com
This entry was posted in god, love, Reality, religion, science, unity and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Have both religion and science gone off the deep end?

  1. Mr. Nice Guy says:

    I get what you’re saying, but you’re wrong on one thing. 2000 years in our time is only 2 days in God’s time. I actually just posted a blog on this myself. So in God’s time, the return of Christ is literally “at the doors”. Not only that, the generation that you are referring to, is the generation that would see Israel revived as a nation (May 14, 1948). A Biblical generation is 70 years, so you can do the math on that.

    As far as string theory is concerned, I in fact find it to be very interesting. I haven’t had much time to get into it, but now that I read your blog, and have nothing else to do today, I think I’ll educate myself on the matter.

  2. thegodguy says:

    Dear Mr. Nice Guy,

    Thank you for your nice response. It is true that 2000 years is nothing within the Lord God’s eternal scheme.

    But as I have mentioned in previous posts on this blog the Lord’s Second Coming is not a physical event. The true battleground of the Apocalypse takes place on the psycho-spiritual “turf” of the human heart and mind. Where else would the conflict over good and evil take place and be meaningful? Where else would God really gain ground in our lives?

    The Lord seeks to conquer our hearts and minds with Truth. That is why He is depicted in Revelation with a sword coming out of His mouth. The Lord’s only weapon is spiritual Truth. A sword represents Truth forged into doctrine to combat evil and falsity. The New Jerusalem will consist of those who can distill and embrace these higher symbolic messages from Sacred Scripture.

    I hope you enjoy your investigation of string theory. The problem that I have with it is that no matter how many dimensions they add to their model it always remains physical – and therefore always keeps God out of the equation. But please let me know what you find out for yourself.

    Spiritually yours,
    TheGodGuy

Leave a Reply

