The lion, the man and the angel

Once upon a time, or maybe someplace where time doesn’t even matter, there lived a lion, a man and an angel. They decided to get together one day and discuss their various God-given qualities and talents.

The lion spoke first. “The Creator of the universe gave me great strength and hunting skills. Let me show you.”

The lion had noticed something moving in the brush and went after it. It was a warthog. He killed it with a blow from his powerful paw and began eating its rump. “Delicious!” said the lion.

The man and angel watched this awesome demonstration with respectful discomfort. Then the man spoke. “While you are undoubtedly more physically powerful than me and have keener senses, the Creator has given me different kinds of power. I can choose from a greater range of foodstuffs. I am not hard-wired into eating from just one food group.”

The man then reached up to pick some fruit off from a tree branch just above his head and took a bite. “Mmmm… good! I can eat fruit and vegetables, as well as meat. Besides, I can prepare and cook all these different foodstuffs in a more enlightening and appetizing way because God has given me a more than ample brain.”

The man then contemplated his own words and was hit by a new thought, saying, “My brain allows me to forage on information. Therefore, I am not even constrained by the fruitfulness of the earth. The information contained in the entire physical universe can feed me!”

The beautiful angel stepped forward next. She had a Holy Bible in her hand. Suddenly, she lifted it to her mouth and began eating it!

The lion and the man were both astounded by this.

“Even my strong digestive juices cannot break down all that wood pulp!” voiced the amazed lion.

“Gee,” said the wide-eyed man, “that must taste awful.”

“It tastes heavenly to me,” responded the angel. “I am from a different and more rarefied realm. The only way I can communicate to you is through symbolism and metaphor.”

The lion was completely confused by the angel’s strange words, but the man could at least grasp the idea of abstract thought.

“You see me as eating the Bible because you need to be presented with physical images in order to understand my unique digestive abilities. I am not constrained by either the harvest of the earth or all the information of the physical universe. I can metabolize worldly knowledge in a special way that allows me to enjoy the fruit of God’s heavenly love and wisdom,” stated the angel.” I can turn everything into spiritual food.”

“What do you mean?” asked the curious man while ruminating over his piece of fruit as well as the angel’s words.

The angel looked directly into the man’s eyes, and said, “When you read God’s Holy Word, your worldly mind grasps its stories only as pertaining to physical and historical events. This is like eating a hamburger and not being able to break it down into its more nutritive and beneficial elements. My digestive powers go much further. These same biblical stories have an entirely different meaning for me. For instance, whereas you interpret the Creation Story in Genesis as merely treating how God made the physical universe come into being, we angels see it from a higher heavenly point of view—that is, as a deeper account of the spiritual beginning and orderly process of the re-creation of the human spirit out from spiritual ignorance and darkness.”

“I don’t understand what you are saying,” remarked the lion, “but my instincts tell me you speak the truth.”

“Wow! Can I learn how to metabolize God’s Holy Word like you?” asked the man.

“I am going to a place called Emmaus. If you follow me there, I will be able to reveal more of the heavenly wonders that are contained within the inexhaustible teachings of the Holy Word.”

The angel, sensing that this story would be put into written form someday to reach readers in the future, magically turned her face in the direction of those anticipated readers (like you) and said, “since you cannot follow me to Emmaus, simply visit http://www.staircasepress.com.”

About thegodguy

EDWARD F. SYLVIA, M.T.S. Philosopher/Theologian Edward F. Sylvia attended the School of Visual Arts in New York and received his Master of Theological Studies at the Pacific School of Religion in Berkeley, CA and a Certificate of Swedenborgian Studies from the Swedenborgian House of Studies. He is a member of the Center for Theology and the Natural Sciences (C.T.N.S.) and the Swedenborg Scientific Association (S.S.A.). Award-winning author of "Sermon From the Compost Pile: Seven Steps Toward Creating An Inner Garden" and "Proving God," which fulfills a continuing vision that God’s fingerprints of love can be found everywhere in the manifest universe. His most recent book, "Swedenborg & Gurdjieff: The Missing Links" is an edgy collection of anti-intuitive essays for personal transformation that challenges and inspires. He has been a student of the ideas of both Emanuel Swedenborg and George I. Gurdjieff for over thirty years. Read more about TheGodGuy, his books and his ideas at http://www.staircasepress.com
This entry was posted in god, Inner growth, love, Reality, religion, spirituality, symbolism, unity and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

