Valentine Roses

At the top of the list of gifts men will give women on Valentine’s Day are roses. Being a person who likes to contemplate and take a deeper look into things, I focused my mind on the topic of roses.

I remember it was as a young boy playing in a schoolyard that I had my first encounter with the enchanted qualities and spell of roses. I found myself at a chain link fence that separated the schoolyard from the back yard and house of a family that loved gardening.

As I peeked through the fence I could see a small pool with shimmering goldfish appearing and disappearing as they swam from the bottom to the top and back down again. Just as I became fascinated with the goldfish, I began to smell the wonderful waft of roses. The roses had been planted about five to ten feet to my right. The moment was truly intoxicating for me. I felt I was taken to a magical place on earth. It was a fragrance that seemed to enter my nose and travel all the way to my soul.

Many years later I became a gardener myself and planted my very own rose garden. I had picked practically every rose color imaginable for this garden. While I was quite taken by their colorful beauty and the velvety texture of their flower petals I was becoming increasingly disappointed that in the pursuit of rose breeders to create new spectacular colors, they were breeding the wonderful fragrance out of these heavenly flowers.

Apparently, the oils that produced a rose’s lovely fragrance were no longer being created by the plant chemistry of the newer hybrids. This recollection sent my mind to ponder the revelations of scientist/theologian Emanuel Swedenborg who said that religion goes downhill when it puts faith before love (good works). It was God’s plan in creation to exalt love in the universe through planting that desire in the human race. Jesus even stated that all the laws of the Prophets hang on LOVE!

Swedenborg, through his visionary insight, gave the world a method of looking at everything in nature from a spiritual level. He said that colors and beautiful forms symbolized the various kinds of spiritual truth that are represented by natural objects—like flowers. Oils represent the inner essence of a thing and represent some quality of spiritual love. Breeding roses without fragrance reminded me of Swedenborg’s statements about putting faith before love.

Then my brain jumped to an event recorded by Swedenborg in his book Conjugial Love (n. 294) in which his visionary powers took him to a circular rose garden in heaven where several angelic WIVES were situated. They told him that roses represented the delights and deepest pleasures of their heart when a man (husband) focuses all his attention on her.

Fragrances in the spiritual world represent the noble delights felt by angelic beings. The rose surpasses all other fragrances because it represents the chaste and spiritual LOVE between eternally married partners (true soul mates).

So gentlemen, when you give roses to the person of your love’s focus and continue to make that girlfriend or wife the focus of your undivided affections you will be creating a delightful fragrance that will be detected in her soul’s very heart and deepest wish!

Happy Valentine’s Day, everyone!

http://www.innergardening.net

About thegodguy

EDWARD F. SYLVIA, M.T.S. Philosopher/Theologian Edward F. Sylvia attended the School of Visual Arts in New York and received his Master of Theological Studies at the Pacific School of Religion in Berkeley, CA and a Certificate of Swedenborgian Studies from the Swedenborgian House of Studies. He is a member of the Center for Theology and the Natural Sciences (C.T.N.S.) and the Swedenborg Scientific Association (S.S.A.). Award-winning author of "Sermon From the Compost Pile: Seven Steps Toward Creating An Inner Garden" and "Proving God," which fulfills a continuing vision that God’s fingerprints of love can be found everywhere in the manifest universe. His most recent book, "Swedenborg & Gurdjieff: The Missing Links" is an edgy collection of anti-intuitive essays for personal transformation that challenges and inspires. He has been a student of the ideas of both Emanuel Swedenborg and George I. Gurdjieff for over thirty years. Read more about TheGodGuy, his books and his ideas at http://www.staircasepress.com
This entry was posted in god, Life after death, love, Reality, religion, spirituality, symbolism, unity and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Valentine Roses

  1. Linda Austin says:

    I sense that fragrance emanating back out from me, but I suspect my husband just smells the red beans and rice heating on the stove! Happy Valentine’s Day to you and your lovely wife.

  2. thegodguy says:

    Dear Linda,

    At least “red” is the right color! Happy Valentine’s Day to you and your family!

    Spiritually yours,
    TheGodGuy

Leave a Reply

