Can God’s Wisdom reach down into pizza making?

Pizza by Cer té, the first green pizzeria in Manhattan!

Pizza by Cer té, the first green pizzeria in Manhattan!

It is happening at this very moment. But it requires a short set-up in order to explain the pizza part of this story.

I live on 11 acres of land that contains fruit trees, nut trees and an organic garden with raised beds. I also built a solar home on this property.

Having made a major study of Emanuel Swedenborg’s theological works I was inspired to create my own “Eden” which included a diversity of plants (which later attracted a diversity of animals and birds) with an eco-friendly design, a compost pile and included other recycling measures.

Years later, I wrote a book titled Sermon From The Compost Pile which displayed how God’s Wisdom and Divine order can be found in such an eco-friendly environment and could then be applied to our spiritual evolution.

That concludes my set-up information.

A parent rarely knows how they have affected their children on the level of their spirit and their conscience. Although recently, I have been given a most positive sign. My oldest son, Edward III, is a very talented chef in New York City with a successful catering business known as Cer té. More importantly, he has just opened the first “all-green” (LEED-certified) pizzeria in the city. I’m so proud of him.

He named his new business “Pizza by Cer té.” My son not only uses locally-sourced ingredients, he modified the structure of his building so that he could grow many of his own herbs on the premises. His menu also includes fresh homemade pasta and a wide variety sandwiches, soups and salads. Pizza by Cer té takes the “going-green” concept further by offering recyclable boxes, biodegradable utensils and even recycles the heat generated from its ovens. (I think he also got rid of his SUV and purchased a hybrid vehicle.) If you’re in the neighborhood, be sure to stop in.

I am sure that the “going green” movement had a lot to do with his recent business strategy. However, between my eco-friendly “homestead,” solar home and book on “inner gardening” I hope I at least set the groundwork for my son to recognize the spiritual and worldly value of moving in this culinary direction!

Pizza by Cer té url: http://www.certenyc.com

Sermon From The Compost Pile: http://www.innergardening.net

About thegodguy

EDWARD F. SYLVIA, M.T.S. Philosopher/Theologian Edward F. Sylvia attended the School of Visual Arts in New York and received his Master of Theological Studies at the Pacific School of Religion in Berkeley, CA and a Certificate of Swedenborgian Studies from the Swedenborgian House of Studies. He is a member of the Center for Theology and the Natural Sciences (C.T.N.S.) and the Swedenborg Scientific Association (S.S.A.). Award-winning author of "Sermon From the Compost Pile: Seven Steps Toward Creating An Inner Garden" and "Proving God," which fulfills a continuing vision that God’s fingerprints of love can be found everywhere in the manifest universe. His most recent book, "Swedenborg & Gurdjieff: The Missing Links" is an edgy collection of anti-intuitive essays for personal transformation that challenges and inspires. He has been a student of the ideas of both Emanuel Swedenborg and George I. Gurdjieff for over thirty years. Read more about TheGodGuy, his books and his ideas at http://www.staircasepress.com
This entry was posted in god, Inner growth, Parenting, Reality, religion, spirituality, unity and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Can God’s Wisdom reach down into pizza making?

  1. sks says:

    There’s a lot of love in this post! First came your love for making the world a better place by your own footprint on the earth. Bravo to that!

    Then comes your love for your son, which you share here in the description of his business and his own care for the environment. In mid-town Manhattan there are certainly “easier” ways to make pizza. That your son makes the extra effort to serve food so “consciously” speaks very well of his own inner spirit! How nice!

    I visited his site. The menus sound delicious. Readers, if you go to the “pizza” part of the site, you not only see a lot of yummy-looking pizza, you’ll see fresh herbs actually growing in the wall. Fascinating! It looks like Young Edward is as creative as his father.

    http://www.certenyc.com/cer-te-pizza.html

    Best wishes to both of you and thanks for making the world a better place.

  2. thegodguy says:

    Dear sks,

    Thanks for your deeply felt comments. I will see my oldest son soon – he will be catering my daughter’s wedding. Can’t wait to check out his “going green” operation in person (and taste test some of his creations)!

    Spiritually yours,
    TheGodGuy

  3. sks says:

    That sounds like it will be a wonderful occasion! All the best to your family.

  4. Roger says:

    Congratulations to your daughter on her wedding!

    And I echo all of sks’ sentiments. You have done well – father and son. This is true success.

    I wish I were less materialistic – but I seem to be pushing my kids in college to get better grades so that they get better jobs (or jobs at all) when they graduate. I have seen too much material suffering in my life to trust Providence completely – I am trying, though. I feel that I must push myself and the others whom I love to survive and succeed in a Darwinian world, even though intellectually I know that it is NOT a Darwinian world. I can’t seem to trust God enough to let go.

    Shame on me – until I get better !

    Roger

  5. thegodguy says:

    Dear Roger,

    Thanks!

    Good to hear from you again. Making money is not necessarily materialistic. God’s universe is a world of uses and depending how the world values our uses we can get paid for it.

    Children need to be educated in a NEW way that brings out their creativity and their God-given gifts. We can no longer just put our faith in the jobs that are already out there – we must create new jobs from our essential and inner talents (which remain dormant under the current educational system).

    All God’s angels in heaven are employed in the things they most love!

    I was first employed as creative writer for an advertising agency. Now I am advertising for God with my website, blog, and spiritual books. I am determined to make it work!

    Spiritually yours,
    TheGodGuy

  6. Roberta R. says:

    Great post, GodGuy! (though you’re making me crave a really good pizza right now…)

    To Roger’s point about the urge to push one’s kids to succeed, I think it’s only natural for a loving parent to do this. Parental egos aside, most loving parents want their children to succeed ”in the material world” for the sake of their own happiness and well-being. Getting a “better” job when you grow up ultimately means having the freedom to become more helpful in the world on your own terms, more or less.

    As long as we’re all on the same planet, we have to live within the prevailing “rules of the times,” which still means earning a living somehow, even in a lousy economy. Even on the lowliest “materialistic” levels, there’s a nobility in wanting to give one’s kids a desire to become a contributing member of society rather than simply being a drain on it. But whether you grow up to be an attorney, a school teacher or a greeter at Walmart, you can grow up with the desire to contribute love to the world every day. GodGuy and his son the chef each seem to have found a way to do that quite well.

    GodGuy, you’re right about changing the education system. I think it begins with parents changing their attitudes about how they guide their children through life. We need to slow down a little bit and spend time really connecting with our kids when they’re young and continuing even when they become rebellious teenagers (ugh). Enabling them to follow their hearts while finding their way in the world is what it’s all about. Yes, children all need to learn basic academic skills and “life” responsibility, but parents still need to encourage them to be curious and creative, too. That’s how we can really change things. Your own career path seems to show how that can be done, GodGuy. If we keep our minds (and hearts) open we can all find a way to make the world a better place. Thanks for giving us these great things to think about!

    Thanks to all who are contributing to this discussion!

  7. thegodguy says:

    Dear Roberta,

    Thanks for taking the extra time to share your most insightful thoughts with my readers. I could probably write several blog posts on this topic. The physical world tends to keep us operating only in our habitual minds. It takes unusual and unexpected ideas to break us out of this mental mold. But even then we can resist new ideas and defend the status quo.

    Spiritually yours,
    TheGodGuy

  8. Roberta R. says:

    It’s true that “new ideas” can make us uncomfortable. You challenge us all the time, GodGuy! And it probably scares some insecure readers away. That’s too bad. But it’s their loss, really, and they will likely end up missing out on a lot of good stuff in life.

    I think the key for all of us is to remain open to the possibility that a weird new scary idea might just be beneficial in the long run. That’s why your brave and loyal readers keep coming back for more. It’s always great exploration with you, even when it’s not all warm and fuzzy. Keep up the good work.

  9. thegodguy says:

    Dear Roberta,

    If I wanted to be warm and fuzzy I would have become a church minister. The human mind was designed to do great things – not simply offer comfort to those who choose to cling to inertia.

    Many people strongly identify with their suffering and refuse to give it up!

    Spiritually yours,
    TheGodGuy

  10. III,III says:

    Its nice to see pizza can stir such a discussion about parenting. It makes sense to me being pizza is most children’s favorite food. Its also a vehicle of celebration and comfort. I am so honored my father wrote about my pizzeria in his blog. I am looking forward to sharing a slice with him.

  11. thegodguy says:

    Dear son,

    The pizza was great! In fact, I was inspired to write another blog post entitled “Made from 75% Elephant Dung!”

    Love,
    Your father (TheGodGuy)

Leave a Reply

