My daughter’s wedding was perfect—almost!

Last Saturday (June 19) my daughter Tara had her beautiful wedding ceremony aboard a yacht (called Romantica), which traveled around much of Manhattan Island.  Weather conditions were ideal and all the guests got to see the sun setting on New York’s great skyscrapers. The boat even stopped in front of the Statue of Liberty so that everyone could get great camera shots.

My oldest son Ed, a professional chef, catered the event, so the food was excellent and abundant. Friends I hadn’t seen in years were also there and I enjoyed many delightful conversations.

The absolutely most perfect part of the marriage ceremony was the loving gazes between Tara and her soon-to-be-husband John. Rarely do you get to see a moment where two people are connecting with each other all the way to their very souls (even Hollywood actors cannot simulate such depth and sincerity)!

Being a student of the theological writings of Emanuel Swedenborg, the spiritual symbolism of a marriage performed on a ship was not lost on me. I would like to share a little bit of that symbolism with you.

Bodies of water symbolically represent the various kinds of knowledge we store in our memory from things learned in the world (we “pool” our ideas). Simply stated, ships, which ride over the waves and maintain buoyancy, symbolize things that can carry our minds above worldly things—like God’s teachings.

The world brings many challenges to a marriage and getting married on a ship represents a coming together of hearts and minds on a plane above our mere worldly concerns (that can easily drown the soul).

It was a perfect marriage symbolically and literally. Almost.

Sunday morning my wife and I got a hilarious phone call from Tara that the minister, who performed the wedding ceremony at the marina, had left the ship before the start of the cruise—and before the marriage license was signed! So my poor daughter and her “almost” husband had to track down the minister and provide all the proper signatures.

What a hoot. Everyone was laughing about it!

There is a saying that a perfect marriage is one that is “made in heaven.” However, a couple must “tie the knot” within the laws and requirements of the terrestrial world. (So Tara and John had extra time to think about things!) Happily, Tara and John’s marriage can now (safely) be said to have been “made in heaven”—and on earth.

Even more perfect, the “official” marriage became my Fathers Day gift!

http://www.staircasepress.com

About thegodguy

EDWARD F. SYLVIA, M.T.S. Philosopher/Theologian Edward F. Sylvia attended the School of Visual Arts in New York and received his Master of Theological Studies at the Pacific School of Religion in Berkeley, CA and a Certificate of Swedenborgian Studies from the Swedenborgian House of Studies. He is a member of the Center for Theology and the Natural Sciences (C.T.N.S.) and the Swedenborg Scientific Association (S.S.A.). Award-winning author of "Sermon From the Compost Pile: Seven Steps Toward Creating An Inner Garden" and "Proving God," which fulfills a continuing vision that God’s fingerprints of love can be found everywhere in the manifest universe. His most recent book, "Swedenborg & Gurdjieff: The Missing Links" is an edgy collection of anti-intuitive essays for personal transformation that challenges and inspires. He has been a student of the ideas of both Emanuel Swedenborg and George I. Gurdjieff for over thirty years. Read more about TheGodGuy, his books and his ideas at http://www.staircasepress.com
This entry was posted in god, Inner growth, love, Reality, religion, spirituality, symbolism, unity and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to My daughter’s wedding was perfect—almost!

  1. Roger says:

    Dear Edward,

    Congratulations to your daughter and son-in-law.

    You are blessed with spiritually-minded children in what is, unfortunately, a very shallow world.

    Just out of curiosity – you do not have to answer: Are your children Swedenborgians and/or readers of Swedenborg? Was the minister at the wedding a Swedenborgian pastor?

    I’m asking because I feel what other Swedenborgians feel – that we’re islands in a world that knows nothing or cares nothing of the Second Advent. No one in my family believes in or cares about the ‘Third Testament’ – and they are ‘centrist’ Christians alright! I sometimes feel that while the Lord’s first advent was a colossal success, His second advent was an abysmal failure. Of course, I am saying this because I am writing in 2010 and not in 2510. But it is depressing nonetheless.

    Roger

  2. thegodguy says:

    Dear Roger,

    My children are not Swedenborgians. The minister at the wedding was not Swedenborgian. However, they have good hearts – which means that they are getting influx from the Lord in heaven. (So angels will find them very teachable in the other world.)

    I protect their freedom in spiritual things. But they do “nibble” from my books. My personal challenge is to share Swedenborg’s ideas in new ways that hopefully will capture the world’s imagination (and my children’s). So I view my “use” in the world as highly experimental. Even my blogs are written in different ways to see what gets attention (that is why some of my approaches may seem wacky or odd).

    I do not see the Lord’s second advent as a failure. It is a failure of human hearts and minds to rise above “ordinary” and terrestrial cognition. Even so-called real Swedenborgians come off very flat to me these days.

    Spiritually yours,
    TheGodGuy

  3. Sue says:

    Congratulations. It sounds lovely. The signature excitement added something special.

  4. thegodguy says:

    Dear Sue,

    Thank you for your loving comment.

    Spiritually yours,
    TheGodGuy

    • Kate Pruiett says:

      Congrats to your daughter! What a lovely way to spend Father’s Day!……especially “giving your daughter away!” I will never forget what my Dad said to Eric on our wedding day……”She’s all yours now! Good Luck!” ( Of course this was all in good fun….)

      As far as the earlier comment about your children “being Swedenborgian” I will always challenge “what” that means? I was raised-heck I was born at SSR-however, I will always claim to be a member of The Church of the New Jerusalem rather then “Swedenborgian”-however I do sometimes use that term…..just never been fond of the label!

  5. thegodguy says:

    Dear Kate,

    Thanks for your kind words (and humor). My daughter’s wedding is the reason why I had to miss seeing your dad last Sunday.

    To be “Swedenborgian” can mean many things. However, the Church of the New Jerusalem is an INTERNAL Church and represents the spiritual quality of our hearts and minds.

    Spiritually yours,
    TheGodGuy

Leave a Reply

