Does the world need a “paranormal romance” dating service?

It seems obvious to me that finding the right life-partner is getting harder to do on this planet. One cannot go everywhere to meet new people. And, people seem more determined than ever to get it right.

Technology has helped a bit. Using online dating services allows one to meet new prospects that he or she wouldn’t normally come across under ordinary conditions. But the rising popularity of the sub-genre of romance novels called “paranormal romance” tells me that many people inwardly wish they could expand their choices even beyond what the mundane world has to offer.

Why be constrained to choose among mere ordinary humans—from one’s own generation? How boring! Why not include those of other dimensions, or from past and future civilizations? Why not include extraterrestrials or vampires and werewolves? After all, shouldn’t your ultimate partnership with another person be super-special and super-interesting?

Scientist/theologian Emanuel Swedenborg was the first author to address the need of humans to find a paranormal partner with his wonderful book Conjugial Love. The trick was to allow oneself to evolve into an actual angel.

Swedenborg claimed that male angels are more handsome than terrestrial males and female angels are also more beautiful than those on earth. Better yet, when angels find their true soul mate their love, good looks and unity increases to an eternity. (And yes, angels kiss, embrace, fondle each other and have sex!)

The reason why male angels are so handsome is that they enjoy heavenly wisdom. The reason why female angels are so beautiful is that they manifest the love and affection of that heavenly wisdom—thus creating a perfect match. A marriage “made in heaven” represents the marriage between heavenly wisdom and heavenly love. How else can two people be perfectly united in both heart and mind?

According to Swedenborg, finding one’s perfect heavenly partner is not through some search engine containing the most complete and up-to-date data bank. Rather, it results from developing one’s innermost qualities of love and wisdom. These inner qualities of the human spirit are truly paranormal and they exist beyond physical spacetime.

In other words, finding the right person for such an eternal relationship requires that YOU also become the right person!

http://www.provinggod.com

About thegodguy

EDWARD F. SYLVIA, M.T.S. Philosopher/Theologian Edward F. Sylvia attended the School of Visual Arts in New York and received his Master of Theological Studies at the Pacific School of Religion in Berkeley, CA and a Certificate of Swedenborgian Studies from the Swedenborgian House of Studies. He is a member of the Center for Theology and the Natural Sciences (C.T.N.S.) and the Swedenborg Scientific Association (S.S.A.). Award-winning author of "Sermon From the Compost Pile: Seven Steps Toward Creating An Inner Garden" and "Proving God," which fulfills a continuing vision that God’s fingerprints of love can be found everywhere in the manifest universe. His most recent book, "Swedenborg & Gurdjieff: The Missing Links" is an edgy collection of anti-intuitive essays for personal transformation that challenges and inspires. He has been a student of the ideas of both Emanuel Swedenborg and George I. Gurdjieff for over thirty years. Read more about TheGodGuy, his books and his ideas at http://www.staircasepress.com
This entry was posted in Inner growth, Life after death, love, metaphysics, Reality, spirituality, unity and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Does the world need a “paranormal romance” dating service?

  1. mitch says:

    I really agree with your last line here. Often times we know someone who is constantly searching for mr/mrs right to no avail. Time and again they end up with someone who disappoints and/or hurts them. Like your last line states people need to better themelves so as to attract more loving partners who will respect and honor their good inner qualities. You have to know what you want by finding it in yourself first

  2. thegodguy says:

    Dear mitch,

    We must become angels – then everything else will work itself out!

    Spiritually yours,
    TheGodGuy

  3. Roger says:

    Dear Edward,

    I wholeheartedly agree. However….

    …what happens if I (the generic I) do not become the right person? What happens until I do not become the perfect person for a long duration post mortem?

    Do I get an imperfect wife, and the two of us co-evolve? Or do I frequent the brothels of the spiritual world, drifting in and out until I find the spark of God-given goodness within me? Do I hop from woman to woman until I find my soul mate and in doing so, find myself?

    I learn from your articles but they are sometimes scary because there is an undercurrent of perfectionism in them. Maybe a little dose of Paulist-Lutheran (and I am no fan of either Paul or Luther) freebie ‘grace’ might be in order. I need to do a lot of work on myself (I agree), but I need a lot of grace too… I have been praying and meditating a lot recently, and I am not quite sure I can make it to heaven on my own.

    Roger

  4. thegodguy says:

    Dear Roger,

    You seem truly concerned with your eternal destiny. That is a good thing!

    Do not be afraid – just don’t be complacent. God’s grace comes to those who have sincere humility. Humility comes with personal struggle against one’s worldly loves and egoism (with the Lord God’s help).

    A Warning: Don’t be convinced that you will be able to resist an evil in the Spiritual World that you haven’t struggled against in this world. The Lord God wants us to be specific as to what evils we want removed from our lives. So, observe, through meditation, the voices and passions coming from within. Acknowledge and identify the worst. Then pray to God for the power to overcome these negatives traits and just do your best – you’ll be OK.

    No one reaches perfection. We simply perfect ourselves throughout eternity.

    Spiritually yours,
    TheGodGuy

  5. mitch says:

    And regarding rogers question regarding finding his eternal love, it should be easier to find compatability in heaven where we are in closest association with those sharing our loves. Maybe godguy himself can elaborate.

  6. thegodguy says:

    Dear mitch,

    Roger has studied Swedenborg, so he should know this stuff. I think he is a little taken back by my hard-nose approach to spiritual salvation and regeneration in my various blogs. But loving others gains spiritual legitimacy only from removing one’s evils first!

    There is no such thing as good people – there is only God’s goodness flowing into peoples lives.

    Spiritually yours,
    TheGodGuy

  7. Roger says:

    Dear Edward,
    I have been a Christian since my pre-teen years, but I have been a Swedenborgian since the summer of 2009 – after being laid off. (I was hired by the same employer within 2 months, which I spent reading the basics of Swedenborg).

    I am 51 years old – how much time do I have to remove all the evils within myself? Not more than 39 years, I suppose – going by statistics. I do not think there is enough time for all the spiritual work that can be done. I have a full-time job and two college kids and a wife to support. All that I can do is “get started” and steer my ship towards heaven i.e. get on the right track. A lot of the work will have to be done in the afterlife. All that I can fully commit to for the rest of my physical life is that I will not do anything egregiously sinful, and that I will do as much spiritual work as possible – which includes trying as much as possible to love those who have wronged me.

    Roger

  8. thegodguy says:

    Dear Roger,

    Your trajectory seems heavenly bound! My problem is not with you but with those who take things for granted (whether they read Swedenborg or not) and are truly frightened about looking deeper within.

    Spiritually yours,
    TheGodGuy

  9. sks says:

    Dear GodGuy,
    I really appreciate all your insights and your “sometimes stern warnings and guidance.” You really know how to serve up the “good swift kick in the pants we all need” in a unique and engaging way that makes us all sit up and take notice.

    Following what Roger says, you do encourage us to “face up” to a lot of things about ourselves that are so much easier to ignore than to actually deal with in everyday life. It’s scary and uncomfortable to look deep inside because we are all taught by our parents to believe we are basically “good people” who are “capable of doing anything.” (Makes me wonder a little bit just how much spiritual damage we do as parents when we nurture children into our own kind of “spiritual trance” like this?)

    Yet, scary as “facing up to it” is, I also sense a lot of love and heavenly guidance in your admonishments. Your writing not only shakes me up and scares me a little sometimes, it also gives me hope! It’s like you give us the tools to fix things, if only we’ll pick them up and use them. By making us aware of the true situation we find ourselves in, at least those of us who choose to listen have a chance to begin this work of regeneration while here on the earth. (It’s like a Danger: falling rocks! sign along the highway of life)

    I really feel that what you share is divinely inspired and I am very grateful for it even though I struggle to live up to the examples you set forth. If our TRUE heartfelt intentions (not our “generic socially-acceptable good intentions”) are pointed in a heavely direction, I sincerely hope we will receive the instruction we need to finish the “project” of developing our souls into eternity… and finding that “true partner and soulmate” who completes us.

    You have such a unique way of telling us important information. Keep it up!

    May God bless you and your heavenly work!

    sks

  10. mitch says:

    I dont think spiritual regeneration takes to much time out of your day. Maybe 10 minutes of reflection, the rest is living life as best you can through the knowledge you gain in reflection and reading. It sounds like your idea of grace and edwards idea of personal struggle work if you consider your wanting god’s goodness your end of the bargain and god working through you as his grace in you. But you have to want it, which is easy.

  11. thegodguy says:

    Dear sks,

    Thanks for your words of support. Yes, many well-meaning people are victims of “spiritual trance.” What legitimate forms of spiritual charity can be performed by people in trance-like states?! I spend a whole chapter on this “modern” predicament in my new book “Proving God.” Not only do people reject the idea that they are born into evils of every kind but they find it absurd that modern life puts them in a diminished cognitive and trance-like state. (So I am not the most popular guy on the block!)

    Spiritually yours,
    TheGodGuy

  12. thegodguy says:

    Dear mitch,

    Your latest reply came in just as I was responding to sks. My writing is not about getting people to squeak through to heaven by the skin of their teeth. But to promote the development of non-ordinary individuals, whose extraordinary efforts and relationship with God will set apart the New Jerusalem from previous religions!

    Spiritually yours,
    TheGodGuy

  13. mitch says:

    Yes, i was just trying to tell roger that regenration isnt something you have to schedule into a busy schedule, it is a part of life and can be done anytime and anywhere.

  14. thegodguy says:

    Dear mitch,

    Yes indeed, true worship is living a life of goodness! But few people grasp how the Lord God uses obstacles (temptations) to qualify our inner victories during the process of spiritual struggle and rebirth. Modern living does not prepare us for these “supra-natural” surprises.

    Spiritually yours,
    TheGodGuy

Leave a Reply

