Resisting non-sexual adultery

A couple of nights ago I had a most interesting dream. I was sitting on a playground swing. My wife was standing to my right side and slightly behind me. I was then introduced to another woman who came closer and stood in front of me.

Then my wife backed away and apparently left the dream. Immediately the strange woman in front of me began to make sexual advances. Somehow she got on top of me and it was not unpleasant.

In spite of the pleasure that would be derived from such an encounter I fought against getting an erection. The woman was so frustrated that I heard her say, “I need your penis to cooperate with me.” In the end, I succeeded in not committing adultery during a dream state.

This dream was so vivid and unusual that I began to interpret it. For context, I remembered that Emanuel Swedenborg had written about having several dreams involving sexual encounters. He also provided keys towards interpreting these dreams.

In one dream he would see a new and more beautiful woman than the one he was currently with, approach him. He would always dismiss the previous woman for the newer, more beautiful woman. But his interpretation of this dream proved more than merely sexual preference or physical attraction—it was full of deeper, psycho-spiritual meaning. He noticed that he would experience such a dream when moving on to a new scientific field of investigation. Swedenborg concluded that a “woman” symbolized science, or more precisely, the passion for obtaining new knowledge—which is always more “sexy” to the curious mind.

Since I was married, and my wife was my legitimate life partner, she symbolized my spiritual aspirations and its higher knowledge. The female stranger, however, represented my temptations with the vanities and allurements of the material world. That is, she was luring my mind into a stronger bond and partnership with worldly loves.

Non-sexual adultery is favoring the entrapments of the physical world over more noble, angelic responses. The female stranger in my dream needed my penis to cooperate because the “penis” symbolized where my mind ultimately wanted to penetrate and expend its forces.

When the Lord God activates our spiritual evolution our conflicting passions are forced to clash—until one is victorious over the other. The swing in the “playground” represents a pendulum moving back and forth between spiritual and worldly influences. When my wife backed away and out of the dreamscape, this signified a swing in consciousness towards my corporeal/sensual leanings. The women’s aggressiveness challenged me to make a choice. Thankfully, I resisted her.

To me, this dream affirmed that I am engaged in a real spiritual battle (all biblical battles refer symbolically to the deeper conflicts being waged within the hearts and minds of men and women). Swedenborg’s science of correspondences (spiritual symbolism) has made it possible for me to explore the allegorical language of my dreams in order to use them as a mirror reflecting the inner state of my soul.

http://www.provinggod.com

About thegodguy

EDWARD F. SYLVIA, M.T.S. Philosopher/Theologian Edward F. Sylvia attended the School of Visual Arts in New York and received his Master of Theological Studies at the Pacific School of Religion in Berkeley, CA and a Certificate of Swedenborgian Studies from the Swedenborgian House of Studies. He is a member of the Center for Theology and the Natural Sciences (C.T.N.S.) and the Swedenborg Scientific Association (S.S.A.). Award-winning author of "Sermon From the Compost Pile: Seven Steps Toward Creating An Inner Garden" and "Proving God," which fulfills a continuing vision that God’s fingerprints of love can be found everywhere in the manifest universe. His most recent book, "Swedenborg & Gurdjieff: The Missing Links" is an edgy collection of anti-intuitive essays for personal transformation that challenges and inspires. He has been a student of the ideas of both Emanuel Swedenborg and George I. Gurdjieff for over thirty years. Read more about TheGodGuy, his books and his ideas at http://www.staircasepress.com
This entry was posted in god, Inner growth, love, psychology, Reality, religion, spirituality, symbolism, unity and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Resisting non-sexual adultery

  1. Sborgian fan says:

    Amazing

  2. thegodguy says:

    Dear Sborgian fan,

    Thank you for your support!

    Spiritually yours,
    TheGodGuy

Leave a Reply

