You won’t get any applause in Heaven

Down here on Earth we welcome peer appreciation. Entertainers live for the applause. Such positive recognition and feedback provides us with a validation of our self worth. Unfortunately, we falsely believe this praise to be the essence of heavenly joy.

But angels are really touchy about this kind of praise. Contrary to what you might think, you will not find such feedback anywhere in God’s heavenly kingdom!

According to the visionary observations of scientist/theologian Emanuel Swedenborg, angels pay no heed to one’s performance other than how it helps to glorify and praise the Lord God, Creator of heaven and earth.

Absolutely no attention is given to a person’s particular or subjective talents (which are gifts from the Lord anyway).

As soon as angels detect any sense of egoism or the injection of anything personal in the way one sings, dances, produces art, or performs any function, it becomes grating and disharmonious to their inner sensibilities.

Heaven is no place for self-pride and self-promotion. Not even a smidgen. That would be stealing what rightfully belongs to the Lord—the source of all life.

Amazingly, Swedenborg observed spirits from earth actually turning away from heaven in order to seek out “better” places where one would have more personal clout and receive greater recognition. What is unknown to the human race in this post-modern world is that this personal striving for self-importance is the essence of hell.

This unexpected and anti-intuitive news is also why reaching the heavenly kingdom can be so difficult. On earth, we have come to believe that successfully tooting one’s own horn is the very essence of happiness and finding one’s true heaven.

Nope! Nope! Nope!

All the problems in the world come from millions of misguided people seeking out their personal heavens.

Making matters worse, these millions of worldly people have all learned to feign humility and solemnity to the point that they habitually believe their own lies.

Christmas is a yearly reminder to cut through this crap and allow the Lord to be born in our hearts and minds and replace our worldly illusions of what constitutes heavenly joy. This divine birth cannot take place within us until we get the heck out of the busy “Inn” in town—which represents humanity’s worldly consciousness and worldly concerns.

This Christmas make a place in your heart—away from the desires and craziness of the world—for innocence itself to be born within you.

Merry Christmas and Happy Holidays!

http://www.provinggod.com

About thegodguy

EDWARD F. SYLVIA, M.T.S. Philosopher/Theologian Edward F. Sylvia attended the School of Visual Arts in New York and received his Master of Theological Studies at the Pacific School of Religion in Berkeley, CA and a Certificate of Swedenborgian Studies from the Swedenborgian House of Studies. He is a member of the Center for Theology and the Natural Sciences (C.T.N.S.) and the Swedenborg Scientific Association (S.S.A.). Award-winning author of "Sermon From the Compost Pile: Seven Steps Toward Creating An Inner Garden" and "Proving God," which fulfills a continuing vision that God’s fingerprints of love can be found everywhere in the manifest universe. His most recent book, "Swedenborg & Gurdjieff: The Missing Links" is an edgy collection of anti-intuitive essays for personal transformation that challenges and inspires. He has been a student of the ideas of both Emanuel Swedenborg and George I. Gurdjieff for over thirty years. Read more about TheGodGuy, his books and his ideas at http://www.staircasepress.com
This entry was posted in god, Inner growth, Life after death, psychology, Reality, religion, spirituality, unity and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to You won’t get any applause in Heaven

  1. Cortland Bell says:

    Hello Mr. Sylvia,

    My name is Cortland Bell and I have been studying the Lords doctrine through the fountain of Emmanuel Swedenborg for over 15 years and I indeed consider myself a individual in the early stages of regeneration. Some time around the Fall of 1999 I began to write a book titled “Ghetto Child: The Struggle For Redemption”. At that time I had a acquired a certain amount of memory knowledge from the writing of The Lord as well as other secular, personal studies and believed that, along with my life experience, that I had something to offer to my fellow man by means of rhetoric. Since that time I my mother committed suicide, I became addicted to alcohol, set my self on fire, and was stabbed six times while at work by a fellow employee. Since the Lord allowed me to accept his Divine Truth for what it is and I chose(although I was not fully aware of it at the time)to study for the purpose of setting myself above my peers I was subjected to personal vastation(if that is indeed the correct term). I will not go on at this time about the many particulars involved within my journey but I will say that during all the trial and tribulations of the past 15 plus years that The Lords Providence is the only thing that kept me from being carried away and consumed by the evil spirits that I turned to that lead to the above. I thought you might be interested in my book/story, which is about 80% complete and spiritual combat has made it somewhat difficult for me to complete or it simply may not be time yet according to providence or both I am not sure. I would appreciate any type of reply that you might have and would be willing to give you more detailed background on my journey which I am sure you will be able to see that it was purely of a spiritual nature and it may also give you a different perspective since I am a Black male who has been through a life in accordance with many of my urban peers.

    • thegodguy says:

      Dear Mr. Bell,

      While I believe it is important for the black community to be introduced to the potent ideas of scientist/theologian Emanuel Swedenborg, I am not now seeking new material for publication. Perhaps you should contact the Swedenborg Foundation – they have more resources than I do. Or perhaps you could try self-publishing (an area that even some very notable authors are embracing because it allows them to publish their own work with a high degree of professionalism plus much greater creative control). Self-publishing does not mean simply typing out your story and getting it “published/printed” by one of the many subsidy presses willing to take your money; it involves careful rewrites, working with a qualified professional book editor who will be respectful of your unique voice and a book designer who will package your work in an attractive, saleable way. It’s also important to research the market to see if, indeed, there is an audience for your book. (I suspect that there definitely will be one.) If you would like more information on how to pursue this path, check out my website http://www.staircasepress.com and look specifically at the tab at the upper right called “Design Services.” My wife does mentor authors on how to publish their books and she would be happy to answer questions via email.

      Spiritually yours,
      TheGodGuy

      • Cortland Bell says:

        Mr. Sylvia,

        Thank you for your swift reply and your guidance as it has given me some much needed inspiration. Although it did cross my mind that you might be interested in helping me to publish my book it was not the primary reason for my contacting you(and I hope you will excuse the medium in which I choose as it was completely spontaneous). Although I only mention Swedenborg once and I don’t believe I literally mention The New Church at all, it will be quite evident to anyone familiar with the Lords Doctrine that this is a book dealing with internal spiritual battle. Although the book is non-fiction it actually reads like fiction because of the method of writing that I have employed. In a word, my internal and my external are in constant dialogue throughout the book and much of what is written was in the present. I believe that once the book is finished this concept along with the content of the book will intrigue you. I am going to use your guidance to help me accomplish getting the book in print and i pray that you might have the time to read it sometime in the future.

        Thank you.

  2. thegodguy says:

    Dear Mr. Bell,

    Self-publishing is analogous to spiritual regeneration. You will have to confront yourself often. I hope the future brings you positive results!

    Spiritually yours,
    TheGodGuy

Leave a Reply

