Book Expo America (BEA) 2012

Every year I attend the Book Expo America event to learn about the exciting new trends in the book industry and find opportunities to promote my company’s (Staircase Press) own published works. (A lot of business-growing contacts and insightful knowledge is to be found at these kinds of events.)

With all the mobile technology innovation being introduced, the trend is favoring small and independent publishers like myself. I couldn’t help but notice that the booming technology industry is also targeting small publishers more and more because that is exactly where the most interesting titles are being created. I am delighted to find my small company representing the brave new world and future of book publishing.

I particularly noticed that as an author/publisher I was getting extra attention from the representatives of these industry-changing technologies as well as from librarians who were on the hunt for unique titles to purchase from new sources.

My wife (whose book design clients are winning awards) and I are more excited and focused than ever on the direction our publishing company will take in the coming years! This will include investing in new technology capabilities. We promise new and unexpected ways of publishing spiritual books for future generations.

I also was able to visit my two sons at Certé. My oldest son, Edward, is the founder, owner and master chef/creative force of this fast-growing dining/catering establishment in the heart of Manhattan. And, my youngest son Adam has recently joined his company as a manager.

While their main business is exquisite catering for events of all sizes, Certé also maintains a small dining room as well as delicious take-out. The same loving care goes into everything they do. Every month, Certé offers an innovative sandwich for their loyal lunch crowd and I volunteered to help create a new kind of sandwich for August. I hope I can rise up to this kind of creative challenge. I will let you know what happens. You can check out Certé at:

http://www.certenyc.com

I mention Certé because we are both offering the public different kinds of “food.”

There will be lots of exciting changes on my website over the next year. If you would like to observe this evolution you can find us at:

http://www.staircasepress.com

About thegodguy

EDWARD F. SYLVIA, M.T.S. Philosopher/Theologian Edward F. Sylvia attended the School of Visual Arts in New York and received his Master of Theological Studies at the Pacific School of Religion in Berkeley, CA and a Certificate of Swedenborgian Studies from the Swedenborgian House of Studies. He is a member of the Center for Theology and the Natural Sciences (C.T.N.S.) and the Swedenborg Scientific Association (S.S.A.). Award-winning author of "Sermon From the Compost Pile: Seven Steps Toward Creating An Inner Garden" and "Proving God," which fulfills a continuing vision that God’s fingerprints of love can be found everywhere in the manifest universe. His most recent book, "Swedenborg & Gurdjieff: The Missing Links" is an edgy collection of anti-intuitive essays for personal transformation that challenges and inspires. He has been a student of the ideas of both Emanuel Swedenborg and George I. Gurdjieff for over thirty years. Read more about TheGodGuy, his books and his ideas at http://www.staircasepress.com
This entry was posted in publishing, Reality, religion, spirituality, unity and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Book Expo America (BEA) 2012

  1. ljclayton says:

    How refreshing to find someone with something positive to say about publishing. I’m glad your small publishing house is doing so well. Since I’ve been taken on by one myself I hope they prove to be as successful as you. Very best wishes.

Leave a Reply

