Thank God no one can see me picking my nose!

I would rather have the world see me as the author of several thoughtful and unique theological books than as someone who occasionally picks his nose.

We all try to control how the world sees us. I have no problem with the effort of putting one’s best foot forward. But does this “human” procedure get in the way of us discovering who we really are?

I am a person who both writes innovative spiritual books and picks his nose. Shouldn’t both activities go into the equation of evaluating who I really am? And If I allow nose picking into my personal profile, what else have I been hiding from the world (i.e., more covert characteristics like envy, pride, swagger, self-conceit, vanity, self-love or arrogance)? Goodness gracious!

Worse yet, I’ve found I have to pay close attention to this unflattering question because over time I had become a real expert in hiding these flawed characteristics from myself as well as the world. But why would I hide real aspects of my personality from myself when I professed to be searching for true enlightenment? After all, isn’t “enlightenment” seeing things the way they really are?

It is sexy to be searching for one’s inner spiritual potentials, but aren’t my flaws just as important? Doesn’t spiritual growth involve sincerity? How am I to change or evolve if I am vague or deceitful about my current condition? Don’t my flaws provide me with the actual material I need to properly engage in self-evolution?

How else would we know what to change from?

Of course this puts a serious kink into our self-esteem. But shouldn’t self-esteem come from our successful efforts to know the truth and work with the truth rather than from some self-delusional and concocted image of self-worth—or from relying on the acceptance and affirmation by others? How else can we really like ourselves and overcome our inner nullity than through conscious personal vigilance?

Truth is truth and even if it stings a bit, it is something that will always be helpful to work with, and show us a more legitimate path. Only lies and falsities can hurt us.

I predict that finding true humility in our lives will represent the future of spiritual transformation and help us to usher in the New Jerusalem on earth. If you agree with this notion, you will find my new book Swedenborg & Gurdjieff: The Missing Links (Anti-Intuitive Essays for Personal Transformation) most helpful. If you disagree, you had better not read it at all!

http://www.staircasepress.com

About thegodguy

EDWARD F. SYLVIA, M.T.S. Philosopher/Theologian Edward F. Sylvia attended the School of Visual Arts in New York and received his Master of Theological Studies at the Pacific School of Religion in Berkeley, CA and a Certificate of Swedenborgian Studies from the Swedenborgian House of Studies. He is a member of the Center for Theology and the Natural Sciences (C.T.N.S.) and the Swedenborg Scientific Association (S.S.A.). Award-winning author of "Sermon From the Compost Pile: Seven Steps Toward Creating An Inner Garden" and "Proving God," which fulfills a continuing vision that God’s fingerprints of love can be found everywhere in the manifest universe. His most recent book, "Swedenborg & Gurdjieff: The Missing Links" is an edgy collection of anti-intuitive essays for personal transformation that challenges and inspires. He has been a student of the ideas of both Emanuel Swedenborg and George I. Gurdjieff for over thirty years. Read more about TheGodGuy, his books and his ideas at http://www.staircasepress.com
This entry was posted in Inner growth, psychology, Reality, spirituality, unity and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

