Fakin’ it

When I was attending art school in the late 60s I was bombarded by lots of so-called mind-expanding psychedelic and “Pop Art” images. This was a great time to consider having a career as a graphic artist.

But I also found it a time when the lyrics of many recorded songs were conveying some deep, insightful and mind-expanding ideas as well. Bob Dylan, the Beatles, and others were taking song lyrics to new levels of human awareness. Because of this I began to focus my attention on the power of words rather than visual ideas and decided that I wanted to be a writer rather than a graphic artist. (And straight out of art school I was hired as an advertising writer and during the course of my career, I worked for some of the biggest ad agencies in the world.)

One day, in my apartment, I happened to be listening to a Simon and Garfunkel song called “Fakin’ it.”

The words were riveting because I suddenly had an epiphany that I was indeed going through life as a big fake—no matter how outwardly successful things seemed. How devastating! This uncomfortable self-discovery reached all the way to my bone marrow. At times I tried to shake such negative thinking off, but somehow this unflattering idea held strong and kept eating away at me in spite of my gaining a reputation for being a highly creative thinker (and getting paid for it).

I did not have the knowledge to appropriately deal with such an unexpected and ego-busting insight.

However, thankfully God knew exactly what to do with it!

Several years later I was (providentially) introduced to the unique spiritual ideas of both Emanuel Swedenborg and George Gurdjieff. Without my having discovered the true sense of my inner nullity I would not have been drawn to their challenging ideas. Through the years, they have allowed me to make sense of my awkward self-discovery and it would ultimately prove to be a heavenly sign—that I was a legitimate candidate for spiritual regeneration.

Now, more than 36 years later, I have written a small book to share with others the things I have learned to enrich my inner life—to become a somebody rather than a nobody. The book is called Swedenborg and Gurdjieff: The Missing Links (Anti-intuitive Essays On Personal Transformation).

What are my credentials for writing such a book? I am an expert on spiritual growth precisely because I am a flawed man!

http://www.staircasepress.com

About thegodguy

EDWARD F. SYLVIA, M.T.S. Philosopher/Theologian Edward F. Sylvia attended the School of Visual Arts in New York and received his Master of Theological Studies at the Pacific School of Religion in Berkeley, CA and a Certificate of Swedenborgian Studies from the Swedenborgian House of Studies. He is a member of the Center for Theology and the Natural Sciences (C.T.N.S.) and the Swedenborg Scientific Association (S.S.A.). Award-winning author of "Sermon From the Compost Pile: Seven Steps Toward Creating An Inner Garden" and "Proving God," which fulfills a continuing vision that God’s fingerprints of love can be found everywhere in the manifest universe. His most recent book, "Swedenborg & Gurdjieff: The Missing Links" is an edgy collection of anti-intuitive essays for personal transformation that challenges and inspires. He has been a student of the ideas of both Emanuel Swedenborg and George I. Gurdjieff for over thirty years. Read more about TheGodGuy, his books and his ideas at http://www.staircasepress.com
This entry was posted in god, Inner growth, psychology, Reality, religion, spirituality, unity and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

