How I take advantage of my loving wife

Don’t worry. I am not a creep. I have been taking advantage of my wife for the strict and honorable purpose of conducting special spiritual experiments.

You see, I have been studying the unique theology of Emanuel Swedenborg for more than three decades. One of his most intriguing books is Conjugial Love (he added an extra vowel to the word “conjugal” so that it could convey a greater and more spiritual element of loving affection between married partners).

In this unique book, Swedenborg describes the differences between men and women in ways that are challenging to the ordinary terrestrial human psyche. Therefore, I have paid extra attention to my wife’s behavior (towards me) to help me verify whether Swedenborg’s visionary insights are correct or pure bunk.

According to Swedenborg, a loving wife can take household work to another level! That is, a heavenly wife can turn a husband’s deepest thoughts and feelings into a spiritual home that she can then dust, clean and tend to its upkeep. In other words, God designed women to be “stay at home moms” for the higher purpose of maintaining an eternal and angelic abode where married partners can truly live “happily ever after.” This requires that wives have a greater sensitivity to what is happening inside a husband’s heart and intellect than even the husband does.

So my ongoing experiment consists of verifying whether or not my wife really has this spiritual sensitivity and has the God-given ability to see right through me.  If she does, then anything I do to respect and learn from this special inner ability will help in my spiritual transformation and in assuring that we will live together in a special “zip code” that promotes mutual love.

I have had some actual success in observing how my wife uses subtle techniques to bend my nature into becoming more “prince-like.” This is a most humbling observation. But as my inner world changes and grows, my wife is successfully moving us both into ever-bigger spiritual homes and real estate. (In heaven, houses reflect the size and quality of people’s hearts.)

These ideas may seem counter to the current women’s movement, which mostly ignores spiritual considerations in favor of worldly concerns, self-affirmation and accomplishment. Well, my wife has a successful professional career in this physical realm but she still sees her most important job as making my inner house a heavenly abode. For a husband to ignore such a trusting, intimate and spiritual partner would amount to a real “war on women.”

http://www.staircasepress.com

About thegodguy

EDWARD F. SYLVIA, M.T.S. Philosopher/Theologian Edward F. Sylvia attended the School of Visual Arts in New York and received his Master of Theological Studies at the Pacific School of Religion in Berkeley, CA and a Certificate of Swedenborgian Studies from the Swedenborgian House of Studies. He is a member of the Center for Theology and the Natural Sciences (C.T.N.S.) and the Swedenborg Scientific Association (S.S.A.). Award-winning author of "Sermon From the Compost Pile: Seven Steps Toward Creating An Inner Garden" and "Proving God," which fulfills a continuing vision that God’s fingerprints of love can be found everywhere in the manifest universe. His most recent book, "Swedenborg & Gurdjieff: The Missing Links" is an edgy collection of anti-intuitive essays for personal transformation that challenges and inspires. He has been a student of the ideas of both Emanuel Swedenborg and George I. Gurdjieff for over thirty years. Read more about TheGodGuy, his books and his ideas at http://www.staircasepress.com
This entry was posted in god, Inner growth, Life after death, love, psychology, Reality, religion, spirituality, unity and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

