A new kind of house tour

I am sitting in my living room chair reading a book by scientist/theologian Emanuel Swedenborg about how the human race, in more ancient times, viewed all things from a spiritual point of view.

This earlier human race would indeed see the physical objects of the terrestrial world, but being spiritually oriented, their thought process was abstracted from material things. They had the unique ability to understand physical forms as representing spiritual qualities. The physical and visible objects in the plane of their ocular vision were not attended to in this higher state of consciousness, but were attuned only to what each object spiritually represented.

This mental ability was the source of their wisdom and even allowed them to converse with God’s angels in heaven, who shared a similar cognitive function.

Swedenborg called this ancient mental ability the science of correspondences or science of representatives, which is mostly lost to the post-modern worldview. He also claimed that God’s Holy word was written entirely in correspondences so that its literal words could be comprehended on a higher, spiritual level.

It seems that one of Swedenborg’s major goals was to challenge the modern world and even its scholars to think in this rarefied manner, which transcends empiricism.

Since I live in the modern world, I assume he is also challenging me!

So, I decide to take a spiritual tour of my house. That is, I will challenge myself to view all the rooms and things in my house as conveying higher spiritual meanings.

I start by taking notice that I am sitting in my living room chair. Sitting represents being attentive or in a receptive mental state of mind. This “sitting” posture is precisely the one I adopted to read and learn from Swedenborg’s book.

In this higher state of consciousness I decide to get up out of my chair. I stand up, making my body a perfect expression (correspondence) of an elevated mind. I now find myself living in a home that represents the inner qualities of my heart and mind.

The wooden floor I stand on represents the things I value and that support the movements of my inner spirit. As I start walking across this spiritual floor I notice that I have intended something and moving in the direction of this intention and goal. With each step I notice a change of my mental state, as though my forward motion is identical to the progress of my changing thoughts—which were all oriented to successively reaching my end goal and psychic destination.

The walls in the various rooms acted like boundaries and parameters of my changing mental states. These mental states gave structure, form and support to higher (and lower) rooms of my spiritual home. The windows represent my intellect while the doorways represented the openings for my heart. I decide to walk downstairs to the basement. This represents exploring the lowest level of my life, where things are disorderly and junk easily accumulates. This level needs to be attended to and put into greater order.

I go back upstairs and see a kitchen and a dining room were I see represented how I share the qualities of my inner life with my spiritual family and friends. The bathroom represents the place in my inner reality where I reject certain influences from my soul that have no value to me.

Next, I walk upstairs to my bedroom. This symbolizes the highest level of my heart and mind. A “bed” represents the ideas, principles and values that offer me the greatest peace and restful comfort (this is why it is said that we each make our bed and have to sleep in it). These observations are just a sample of what was revealed to me during this special “house tour.”

Swedenborg states that when we die and leave the physical spacetime arena we will find ourselves in a spiritual abode or home designed perfectly after the qualities of our inner spirit.

Now is the time to make home renovations for our spirits. The Lord God has a heavenly house blueprint for each of us (there is no other way to solve the world’s earthly problems, either).

http://www.staircasepress.com

About thegodguy

EDWARD F. SYLVIA, M.T.S. Philosopher/Theologian Edward F. Sylvia attended the School of Visual Arts in New York and received his Master of Theological Studies at the Pacific School of Religion in Berkeley, CA and a Certificate of Swedenborgian Studies from the Swedenborgian House of Studies. He is a member of the Center for Theology and the Natural Sciences (C.T.N.S.) and the Swedenborg Scientific Association (S.S.A.). Award-winning author of "Sermon From the Compost Pile: Seven Steps Toward Creating An Inner Garden" and "Proving God," which fulfills a continuing vision that God’s fingerprints of love can be found everywhere in the manifest universe. His most recent book, "Swedenborg & Gurdjieff: The Missing Links" is an edgy collection of anti-intuitive essays for personal transformation that challenges and inspires. He has been a student of the ideas of both Emanuel Swedenborg and George I. Gurdjieff for over thirty years. Read more about TheGodGuy, his books and his ideas at http://www.staircasepress.com
This entry was posted in god, Inner growth, Life after death, love, psychology, Reality, religion, symbolism, unity and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

