The mind of a philosopher, the heart of a creep

Philosopher-creepThat’s me! That’s me!

I have had three kinds of education. First I went to art school, then I went to seminary. These first two types of education trained my mind to appreciate challenging concepts while thinking through a creative lens.

My first career involved being a creative writer for several of the top advertising agencies in the world. Now, as an author of spiritual books, I advertise for God.

But something strange happened to me along the way. I went from being haughty to finding sincere humility; from being proud to being pummeled.

Educating the mind is quite different from educating the heart. The intellectual mind with its memory, full of all kinds of noble concepts, is very capable of hiding one’s devilish intentions and character flaws through kind words and even charitable actions.

I used to be that kind of deceitful guy. My early girlfriends would definitely verify that I was inwardly a real “grease ball.”

While I was cultivating my mind, many character flaws lay hidden and safe from serious introspection.

Then I had a third education. Or should I say, I began to submit myself to some bitter personal medicine. From the transcendental methods of personal growth illuminated by Emanuel Swedenborg and George Gurdjieff, I realized that being sincerely good requires innocence. This innocence is thwarted by all egoistic and self-centered motives. I eventually found out something very unflattering about myself—my personal self-evaluation was fraudulent and based on mere illusion.

This self-illusion is what the Lord God seeks to remove from our very hearts. The removal of this illusory adroitness in our lives is what brings each of us to true innocence (in spite of how noble and kind any outward act we make might appear before the ocular vision of others).

Today I have succeeded in getting several spiritual challenges (temptations) under my belt. I base my success on the fact that I have been married to one woman for almost 37 years and that it remains an ongoing challenge.

I believe that one of the most important purposes of marriage is currently being overlooked—to make two people more spiritual.

http://www.staircasepress.com

About thegodguy

EDWARD F. SYLVIA, M.T.S. Philosopher/Theologian Edward F. Sylvia attended the School of Visual Arts in New York and received his Master of Theological Studies at the Pacific School of Religion in Berkeley, CA and a Certificate of Swedenborgian Studies from the Swedenborgian House of Studies. He is a member of the Center for Theology and the Natural Sciences (C.T.N.S.) and the Swedenborg Scientific Association (S.S.A.). Award-winning author of "Sermon From the Compost Pile: Seven Steps Toward Creating An Inner Garden" and "Proving God," which fulfills a continuing vision that God’s fingerprints of love can be found everywhere in the manifest universe. His most recent book, "Swedenborg & Gurdjieff: The Missing Links" is an edgy collection of anti-intuitive essays for personal transformation that challenges and inspires. He has been a student of the ideas of both Emanuel Swedenborg and George I. Gurdjieff for over thirty years. Read more about TheGodGuy, his books and his ideas at http://www.staircasepress.com
This entry was posted in god, Inner growth, psychology, Reality, religion, spirituality, unity and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

