A physicist/student wants me to explain what “pre-space” and “pre-Planck” action is

Swedenborg-PlanckOne of the biggest frustrations of blogging is that people tend to think that my sole reason for existence is to give information out freely. I indeed do, to some extent, but I use my short blog posts to create interest in my various books (which treat these topics in more rigorous and detailed ways). As an author (and a marketing professional) I have learned to use my blog for that purpose.

I apologize to any person who feels I do not deserve to make a living!

Recently a student/physicist has told me that he does not have the money to purchase one of my books (i.e., Proving God). This could well be true, but this means he expects a “brain dump” from me—for free! He wants me to explain to him what “pre-space” and “pre-Planck” means.

Since I am trying to cultivate a spiritual and charitable heart, I will offer him (and the rest of my readers) a short definition (although I know this will only generate more “free” questions).

“Pre-space” and “pre-Planck” are terms used to express a situation where time and space become meaningless. I have used these terms to suggest that the laws and forces that rule the universe on the fundamental level operate in a realm of timelessness and nonlocality.

This notion of a causal “pre-geometry” that encompasses everything presents a real problem for contemporary physicists because science rejects metaphysical concepts. But scientist/theologian Emanuel Swedenborg created a model of reality in which physical forces and forms elevated themselves into discrete levels of reality by lawfully removing the constraints put upon their action and parameters. (For instance, Swedenborg describes an unfathomable form in which its center occupies every point of its periphery!)

Swedenborg took his unique model all the way “up” to spiritual phenomena and God’s divine action.

In the last three decades of his life, Swedenborg wrote exclusively about this higher pre-space realm—where we arrive after death and where angels live.

The problem for any scientist in grasping these rarefied ideas is that they have to deal with God’s cherubim—who guard against those who seek these ultimate answers for reputation and worldly gain. These issues can only be approached by those who have sincerely cultivated innocence within their heart.

In other words, this important topic is not simply an intellectual exercise! (I suspect that the academic world would snicker at such a statement.)

But “pre-space” and “pre-Planck” concepts are needed before science can create a rational “unified theory”—which they desperately seek.

http://www.staircasepress.com

About thegodguy

EDWARD F. SYLVIA, M.T.S. Philosopher/Theologian Edward F. Sylvia attended the School of Visual Arts in New York and received his Master of Theological Studies at the Pacific School of Religion in Berkeley, CA and a Certificate of Swedenborgian Studies from the Swedenborgian House of Studies. He is a member of the Center for Theology and the Natural Sciences (C.T.N.S.) and the Swedenborg Scientific Association (S.S.A.). Award-winning author of "Sermon From the Compost Pile: Seven Steps Toward Creating An Inner Garden" and "Proving God," which fulfills a continuing vision that God’s fingerprints of love can be found everywhere in the manifest universe. His most recent book, "Swedenborg & Gurdjieff: The Missing Links" is an edgy collection of anti-intuitive essays for personal transformation that challenges and inspires. He has been a student of the ideas of both Emanuel Swedenborg and George I. Gurdjieff for over thirty years. Read more about TheGodGuy, his books and his ideas at http://www.staircasepress.com
This entry was posted in god, metaphysics, Reality, religion, science, unity and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A physicist/student wants me to explain what “pre-space” and “pre-Planck” action is

  1. hd000 says:

    …Well thanks for making a post especially for me, I guess. I had thought we were in a discussion where we could both expect to learn a thing or two and I was approaching your unknown viewpoint with humble questions. Oh well, I won’t make the same mistake the next time I see a blog covered with advertisements for self-published books. You’re not a professor, you’re a businessman. You deserve to make a living so I won’t ask you anything else.

    I also see that you have no apparent training in physics. You might find it helpful to borrow “The Road to Reality” by Roger Penrose from your local library, which is an accessible but complete guide to modern mathematics and theoretical physics. It will teach you valuable things about my profession and the world, even if you do not keep a ‘cultivated innocence’ while approaching it.

    You shouldn’t be so disparaging toward academia or scientists either in public or in your heart. I don’t know many that snicker at metaphysics, and we are always happy to answer questions.

    • thegodguy says:

      I did treat you special!

      And I answered your question as to what “pre-space” and “pre-Planck” means. By the way, the foreword to my award-winning book “Proving God” was written by a real physicist. I have several of Roger Penrose’s books and also like Lee Smolin’s book on “The Trouble with Physics.” It was Lee’s book that gave me much information to evaluate the current theories of physics. If relativity theory and quantum mechanics have flaws (they certainly resist unification) then what kind of understanding do you think I need? Your understanding? I have challenged today’s scientific models – because they do not lead to first causes (i.e., God).

      I attended seminary and had a professor who was both an ordained minister and a physicist (much like John Polkinghorne).

      Spiritually yours,
      TheGodGuy

  2. hd000 says:

    Poor Smolin, at least his book also inspired a generation of young physicists like me. A fiver says you’ve not read the Road to Reality to the end. Perhaps it was too ‘unfathomable’ for you? By the way, your answers were the same old scientific-sounding word salad that I’ve heard over and over from people who want to clothe their own particularly religion in the mantle of science’s great achievements.

    It’s clear by now that engaging seriously with you is pointless for both of us. Just remember, you must be humble to learn – so with your insultingly imperious attitude, are you surprised that I think you’ve nothing to teach me? I’ve run into people who insinuate that only someone who isn’t innocent would possibly reject their claims before, you know, and their actions have never inspired me with confidence in their motives. Why should you be any different?

    • thegodguy says:

      I haven’t read a word of Penrose’s “Road to Reality”. You have already admitted that you did not understand Swedenborg – so why would you feel smug about the possibility of me not understanding Penrose? I admit that his math would be a challenge to me. I am not a mathematician. I am an idea and concept guy. I have yet to find an idea by Penrose that I could not mentally grasp.

      I like Penrose. He often goes against the stream of thinking. For instance, he believes that in the challenge of unifying relativity with quantum physics it is quantum physics that needs further modification (most physicists take the opposite view). And I like his stance that quantum gravity is responsible for the vector state reduction in which measurement appears. But I think Swedenborg’s ideas are superior for unifying the two pillars of modern physics (he would modify both relativity theory and quantum mechanics to do this). Furthermore, Swedenborg’s model of reality offers the best approach to explaining quantum gravity with background independent concepts.

      Spiritually yours,
      TheGodGuy.

Leave a Reply

