Jesus and Jelly Beans

JESUS_AND-JELLYBEANSAs I am sitting on my big, fluffy easy chair and stuffing my face with jelly beans, I suddenly realize that I can celebrate Easter just through my chewing action.

You see, as a follower of the unique theological ideas of Emanuel Swedenborg, I have become cognizant of the concept that everything in the physical world can convey a higher, spiritual meaning! (Swedenborg called this similitude between physical and spiritual realities correspondences.)

That means that even silly little jelly beans, if assimilated correctly, can connect me with the profound lessons of spiritual resurrection.

I decide to go into a state of “double chewing.” In other words, to chew the jelly beans with both my mouth and my inner spirit’s analytic (discernment) ability.

So, the sweetness I detect from the physical jelly beans is now immediately elevated to the higher, spiritual sweetness of the Lord’s message. Our souls can detect the enjoyment of God’s truth just as our physical tongues detect enjoyment and pleasantness from the jelly beans!

Now my jelly beans have been “resurrected” to serve as delicious reminders of my Lord’s resurrection and eternally relevant teachings.

As I reach for my Easter Basket to grab more jelly beans I begin to focus on all its contents. Everything my eyes settle on provides me with a new perception that God’s goodness and love takes form in many ways that are appetizing to the spirit.

The chocolate bunnies, eggs, marshmallow Peeps, and various Easter candies all represent the many ways the goodness of love is prepared and conveyed by the Lord’s Divine Truth and Wisdom. Even the “green grass” in the basket represents new life (like the emergence of new growth at Springtime), and the fact that all these goodies are placed in a basket means that the Lord’s message must ultimately be received and stored in our hearts and wills!

Happy Easter, everyone!

http://www.staircasepress.com

About thegodguy

EDWARD F. SYLVIA, M.T.S. Philosopher/Theologian Edward F. Sylvia attended the School of Visual Arts in New York and received his Master of Theological Studies at the Pacific School of Religion in Berkeley, CA and a Certificate of Swedenborgian Studies from the Swedenborgian House of Studies. He is a member of the Center for Theology and the Natural Sciences (C.T.N.S.) and the Swedenborg Scientific Association (S.S.A.). Award-winning author of "Sermon From the Compost Pile: Seven Steps Toward Creating An Inner Garden" and "Proving God," which fulfills a continuing vision that God’s fingerprints of love can be found everywhere in the manifest universe. His most recent book, "Swedenborg & Gurdjieff: The Missing Links" is an edgy collection of anti-intuitive essays for personal transformation that challenges and inspires. He has been a student of the ideas of both Emanuel Swedenborg and George I. Gurdjieff for over thirty years. Read more about TheGodGuy, his books and his ideas at http://www.staircasepress.com
This entry was posted in god, Inner growth, love, psychology, Reality, religion, spirituality, symbolism, unity and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

