I love my job!

ideasLots of people cannot find jobs. This is because society only educates and trains its citizens to enter into established areas of employment—called “fields.”

It seems that jobs in these fields are drying up and a growing population of people are caught in a pinch. The pinch is that we all find ourselves in a world that is almost impossible to live in without money. But it is self-evident that this physical world that we are clinging to is temporary and we will all be dead within a seven or eight decade time-span.

God did not design us for living in such a limited sphere. We were each individually created with the divine gift of being able to perform some special use in the universe. But this specialness must be coaxed out of us and touch our soul because it will determine our place in the spiritual realm of eternity. This rare kind of on-the-job training comes with taking our spiritual growth seriously. Only through spiritual growth can our inner potentials be recognized and released.

Our challenge on this finite earth is to temporarily monetize our spiritual gifts. That is, through creativity, we must convince others that what we offer will benefit others enough that they will pay us for it. How else can mutual love enter human life but through one’s valued utility?

I’m lucky. God gave me the gift of writing. As an author I can write about what I want and continue to do it past the age of retirement. I did pay my dues—having worked for others most of my life and even doing various odd and physical jobs when I was a young man. Eventually I succeeded in becoming a vice president and Creative Director of an advertising agency. But none of these occupations touched my soul. In fact, I often rebelled at these earthly work-choices (regardless of salary). But I could still write!

My father wanted me to become a dentist. As someone who grew up in the Great Depression, he recognized that such a career would likely bring me a degree of financial success. For a long time he was worried about my not taking the sure and beaten path. (But he loved sports and became a physical education teacher and high school coach—so he was doing what he loved. Later he saw that I could make a living doing what I loved.)

But times are becoming more challenging.

I think over time, worsening conditions will force people to reach deeper inside themselves and re-invent their worldview and value to society. Marketing studies say this is already beginning to happen with younger generations. Doing what one loves from sincerity and from one’s spiritual conscience is the essence of true happiness and allows heaven to operate within you.

I know this is difficult when there is rent or a mortgage hanging over your head but you may have previously bought into an earthly paradigm that is not sustainable. I believe that a part of the Lord’s “Second Coming” will be to shake-up and challenge the current worldview as to why we are really here on this planet!

http://www.provinggod.com

About thegodguy

EDWARD F. SYLVIA, M.T.S. Philosopher/Theologian Edward F. Sylvia attended the School of Visual Arts in New York and received his Master of Theological Studies at the Pacific School of Religion in Berkeley, CA and a Certificate of Swedenborgian Studies from the Swedenborgian House of Studies. He is a member of the Center for Theology and the Natural Sciences (C.T.N.S.) and the Swedenborg Scientific Association (S.S.A.). Award-winning author of "Sermon From the Compost Pile: Seven Steps Toward Creating An Inner Garden" and "Proving God," which fulfills a continuing vision that God’s fingerprints of love can be found everywhere in the manifest universe. His most recent book, "Swedenborg & Gurdjieff: The Missing Links" is an edgy collection of anti-intuitive essays for personal transformation that challenges and inspires. He has been a student of the ideas of both Emanuel Swedenborg and George I. Gurdjieff for over thirty years. Read more about TheGodGuy, his books and his ideas at http://www.staircasepress.com
This entry was posted in god, Inner growth, psychology, Reality, religion, spirituality, unity and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I love my job!

  1. samoloba says:

    I love reading your posts. Just wanted to let you know that as an “encouragement!”

    • thegodguy says:

      Dear samoloba,

      Thank you! However, if you love reading my posts you’ll love reading my books even more. I will have a fourth book coming out this September!

      Spiritually yours,
      TheGodGuy

Leave a Reply

