My shrinking Thanksgiving

16There are fewer people at the Thanksgiving table. Parents and grandparents have passed on to another realm.

This situation has a big influence on what I say for grace on the holidays.

Usually, expressing gratitude to the Lord God for the physical blessings, abundance and good health of our loved ones is enough. But as I notice that less and less family members are at the holiday table, my focus and prayer is directed at thanking God for sending me heavenly knowledge about how to become a better person, so that I can share this season with angels.

So I have found a way to expand my holiday table for more family and friends to show up than ever before. That is, I wish for my Thanksgiving table to have some of its legs and chairs in heaven.

Have a happy (and spiritual) holiday, everyone!

http://www.staircasepress.com

About thegodguy

EDWARD F. SYLVIA, M.T.S. Philosopher/Theologian Edward F. Sylvia attended the School of Visual Arts in New York and received his Master of Theological Studies at the Pacific School of Religion in Berkeley, CA and a Certificate of Swedenborgian Studies from the Swedenborgian House of Studies. He is a member of the Center for Theology and the Natural Sciences (C.T.N.S.) and the Swedenborg Scientific Association (S.S.A.). Award-winning author of "Sermon From the Compost Pile: Seven Steps Toward Creating An Inner Garden" and "Proving God," which fulfills a continuing vision that God’s fingerprints of love can be found everywhere in the manifest universe. His most recent book, "Swedenborg & Gurdjieff: The Missing Links" is an edgy collection of anti-intuitive essays for personal transformation that challenges and inspires. He has been a student of the ideas of both Emanuel Swedenborg and George I. Gurdjieff for over thirty years. Read more about TheGodGuy, his books and his ideas at http://www.staircasepress.com
This entry was posted in god, Inner growth, Life after death, love, Reality, religion, spirituality, unity and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to My shrinking Thanksgiving

  1. xxTruthBeToldxx says:

    I know that feeling! I haven’t seen my mom or brother in 4+ years. They are alive but distance and the busy world and lack of money has kept up apart. I too have noticed the shrinking table and honestly haven’t had a family thanksgiving with the big family in years . This year I went to a friends house who did a lot of festivities and they showed my little family nothing but love! It was so nice to be able to have a Thanksgiving. If they only knew really and truly how happy it made us.
    Happy Holidays I hope you invite more and more friends to your table your loved ones would be proud.

Leave a Reply

