God is taking me to my secret hiding place

41014_06Actually, I have spent a good portion of my life in this secret place. What God has done is to shake me out of a dream and wake me up to the fact that this was (and still is) my favorite place to be.

This psycho-spiritual hiding place is where I hide all my ignoble thoughts and wishes from the world. But these secret wishes and thoughts represent the center of gravity of a strong element of my inner world and perpetually seek to manifest into outer acts and deeds.

These flawed ideas are so personally intimate that they normally go unnoticed (because I relate to them and find pleasure in them). But the laws of the land generally keep these spurious inner tendencies hidden deep inside me because acting on them would threaten the worldly reputation which I have carefully promoted and cultivated in the world.

However, this hiding place has eternal ramifications beyond this world. When my physical body dies, this hiding place is where my living spirit will go to—unless I notice it here on earth and make some drastic changes to it, based on God’s wise precepts for living.

This secret hiding place is what the Lord was pointing to when He warned us earth-beings to “clean the inside of the cup.”

As a result of becoming more aware of my inner world, my secret hiding place is being closely watched and slowly dismantled. This spiritual demolition does not occur by going to church, reading Swedenborg or Gurdjieff, having bake sales, or by helping the poor and less fortunate.

It happens when our eyes our opened to the reality and existence of our own secret hiding place and our not liking what we see there.

It is called salvation. Be brave!

http://www.provinggod.com

About thegodguy

EDWARD F. SYLVIA, M.T.S. Philosopher/Theologian Edward F. Sylvia attended the School of Visual Arts in New York and received his Master of Theological Studies at the Pacific School of Religion in Berkeley, CA and a Certificate of Swedenborgian Studies from the Swedenborgian House of Studies. He is a member of the Center for Theology and the Natural Sciences (C.T.N.S.) and the Swedenborg Scientific Association (S.S.A.). Award-winning author of "Sermon From the Compost Pile: Seven Steps Toward Creating An Inner Garden" and "Proving God," which fulfills a continuing vision that God’s fingerprints of love can be found everywhere in the manifest universe. His most recent book, "Swedenborg & Gurdjieff: The Missing Links" is an edgy collection of anti-intuitive essays for personal transformation that challenges and inspires. He has been a student of the ideas of both Emanuel Swedenborg and George I. Gurdjieff for over thirty years. Read more about TheGodGuy, his books and his ideas at http://www.staircasepress.com
This entry was posted in god, Inner growth, love, psychology, Reality, religion, spirituality, unity and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

